Home - HIST 1000 - History Matters (Dr. Homan) - Research Guides at Saint Louis University Libraries

Types of Sources

Primary sources = original sources of information about a topic, created by the person in question or at the time being studied
Secondary sources = analyze and interpret primary sources (while engaging with other relevant secondary sources)
Tertiary sources = incorporates many different secondary sources into a summary of a specific subject
- Indexes, dictionaries etc. (reference materials) that help guide us to primary and secondary sources

*An item may be both a primary and secondary source!*

Best Bets

SLUth - Search Plus

A multi-disciplinary discovery tool that searches over 130 research databases, the SLU Library Catalog, SLU Digital Collections, and journal content from multiple publishers. Find articles, books, videos, and more.
Saint Louis University Libraries Catalog
Freely available online. 1818-present. Contains the most complete listing available of books, journals, videos, government documents, online resources, and other materials provided by the SLU Libraries for the use of Saint Louis University students, faculty, staff, and others.
JSTOR
A digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources.
Project MUSE
Full-text access to hundreds of scholarly journals and open access ebooks from over 200 university and not-for-profit presses primarily in humanities and social sciences with some science, technology, and math.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Search across all of SLU's subscribed ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Kansas City Call, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, St. Louis American, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch.
History Vault (ProQuest)

Provides access to millions of primary source, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history.
Gale Primary Sources
1600-1925. Experience Gale Literary Sources, the search platform that allows searching many Gale digital collections together such as NCCO, ECCO, The Times Digital Archive, and The Making of Modern Law.
ProQuest Congressional
Congressional materials indexed (including selected full text) include all types of U.S. legislative information such as Congressional Hearings (1824-present) and Congressional Research Services (CRS) Reports (1916 to present).