Primary Sources in the SLU Libraries - HIST 1000 - History Matters (Dr. Homan) - Research Guides at Saint Louis University Libraries

Find Primary Sources in the SLU Libraries

You can find primary sources in the SLU Libraries by searching the SLU Libraries Catalog. Add and asterisk (*) and one of the following terms to a subject search or look for these terms at the end of Library of Congress subjects in the SLU Libraries Catalog.

sources
correspondence
interviews
diaries
letters
memoirs
documents
speeches
personal narratives
early works to 1800
public opinion
doctrines
writings
archives
maps

Example keyword searches:

SLU Archives

The SLU Archives comprises several hundred archival collections, covering a variety of topics and disciplines. Search the collections below:

Collection Guides | Research Guides | UNews Index | Digital Collections

Primary Sources on Microfilm

Early American Imprints, 1639-1800 (Evans)
This microfilm collection is comprised of virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in the U.S. from 1639-1800. To see records for the individual titles contained in this set, click link above. This set is located on the Lower Level of Pius Library, call number AC1.E3. Click i icon for additional location and finding aid information.

more... less...

Microfiche are located in the cabinets labeled "Early American Imprints. Evans" and filed by Evans number. To locate the desired title's Evans number, consult: American Bibliography (shelved in Pius Reference, call number Z1215.E923, Level 5 East on the ranges after Oversize A-Z). The microfilm reader is in the iCommons on Pius Level 1.
Anti-Slavery Propaganda in the Oberlin College Library
American Anti-Slavery Propaganda published before January 1, 1863. Also includes a small collection of pro-slavery literature and British anti-slavery propaganda. See "i" for additional information. Pius Microfiche E 449 .L865 1968 (Lower Level).

more... less...

An author catalog is available on top of the microfiche cabinet along with a limited classified catalog. You will also find catalog records for the pamphlets in the MOBIUS Library Catalog. The catalog will not indicate SLU holdings, but you would be able to use the author guide to find the fiche number for an item you locate in MOBIUS.
Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865
Approximately 15,000 documents written by nearly 300 black abolitionists. Includes correspondence, speeches, sermons, lectures, articles, essays, editorials, receipts, poems, and other documents. Pius Microfilm E449 .B624 1993 (Lower Level).

more... less...

There is also a 5 volume print edition of selections from these papers (E449 .B624 1985).