Medieval Church History

The following two sources list indexes/serial bibliographies of relevance for medieval church history:

Rouse, Richard H. Serial Bibliographies for Medieval Studies. Berkeley and Los Angeles: University of California Press, 1969.
     Z6203.R66
Annotated listing of 283 serial publications containing ongoing bibliographies useful to the medievalist. Some information may be dated but still useful. See especially Ch. 8 ("Ecclesiastical History") and Ch. 8 ("Intellectual History").

Walsh, Michael J., compiler. Religious Bibliographies in Serial Literature: A Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1981.
     Ref. BL48.W25 1981
Annotated listing of 178 serial publications containing ongoing bibliographies covering all fields of religion and theology. For bibliographies on medieval church history, see the subject index under "Medieval Studies" or other relevant entries.

The following indexes/serial bibliographies are presented as a sample of what is available to the student of medieval church history. Many more examples may be found in the two sources listed above

Bibliographia Internationalis Spiritualitatis. 1966-2006 .
     BX2350.2.B542
The focus of this annual bibliography is indicated by the title. Covers all aspects of spirituality, asceticism, monasticism, and related subjects. There is a section covering "Historia Spiritualitatis" containing sub-sections on the medieval period (defined as eighth-thirteenth centuries) and the histories of particular religious orders. See Gorman, Systematic Theology and Church History, p. 7 (C0023); McCabe, Critical Guide, p. 116 (B302); Walsh, Religious Bibliographies, p. 40f. (#35).

Bibliographie annuelle du moyen-âge tardif. 1991- .
     D113.B53
Covers Latin authors and texts from 1250 to 1500. See Berlioz, L' Atelier du Medieviste, p. 36.

Bibliographie Internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance. 1966- .
     Ref. Z6207.R4B5
Annual index of books, articles and congresses covering virtually all aspects of the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries. Some problems with currency, the gap between a volume's publication date and its date of coverage is usually about four years (e.g. the volume published in 2001 covers items published in 1997). See Gorman, Systematic Theology and Church History, p. 8 (C0025); Walsh, Religous Bibliographies, p. 45f. (#39); Rouse, Serial Bibliographies, p. 4 (#4).

Byzantinische Zeitschrift. 1980- .
     DF501.B78
This journal publishes a regular bibliographical section including books, articles and essays on the Byzantine period (345-1453). Occasional annotations and references to reviews. See Walsh, Religious Bibliographies, p. 73f. (#62)

Medioevo Latino. 1979- .
     PN661.M4
Classified bibliography of primary and secondary sources in medieval studies, often with extensive annotations. Indexes of authors and manuscripts.

L'Annee Philologique. 1924- . 

     The primary bibliography for classical studies covering, for the most part, "pre-medieval" topics; nevertheless very useful for "early medieval" topics and figures (e.g. Augustine and Boethius).  Indexes editions, translations, conference proceedings, monographs, and articles.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS. 1949- .
     General theological database, covers journal articles and book reviews from 1949 and essays in books from 1960. Updated twice a year.

Index Religiosus.  1900- .

    Combines the bibliographies on theology and church history formerly appearing in Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses and Revue d'Histoire Ecclesiastique.  The most comprehensive bibliography for church history in general including the middle ages.

Index Theologicus. 

      An open-access database from the University of Tübingen (Germany) with general coverage of theological journals, including medieval church history, theology, etc. 

International Medieval Bibliography.  1967-
      The International Medieval Bibliography covers the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500) indexes articles and review articles (but not book reviews per se) from about 4,500 journals, essays from Festschriften, conference proceedings, etc.

Iter Bibliography. 

     A bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books and journal material as are citations for dissertation abstracts and essays in books.

The Philosopher's Index. 1940- .
      Indexes and partially abstracts journal articles (300+ journals), book reviews, essays from books, and monographs in philosophy and related fields.