Skip to Main Content

It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 1110: Origins of the Modern World to 1500

This guide contains information for students in History 1110: Origins of the Modern World to 1500 on how to research ancient and medieval history

Reference eBook Collections

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of almost 400 e-reference books. Includes many history reference books.

Encyclopedias

Gate of Ishtar, detail
Replica found in Pergamon Museum, Berlin

Brill's New Pauly: encyclopaedia of the ancient world. Antiquity by Hubert Cancik (Editor); Helmut Schneider (Editor); Manfred Landfester (Editor); Christine F. Salazar (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DE5 .P3332 2002
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Donald B. Redford (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DT58 .O94 2001
Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition by Graham Speake (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DF757 .E53 2000
The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and Rome [electronic resource] by Michael Gagarin
Call Number: Ref. DF757 .E53 2000
Late Antiquity by G. W. Bowersock (Editor); Peter Brown (Editor); Oleg Grabar (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DE5 .L29 1999
New Catholic Encyclopedia by Catholic University of America Staff
Call Number: Ref. BX841 .C25 2003
Available online and in print in the Pius Library reference collection, Lewis Annex Level 4.

Biographical Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of World Biography
Search across all the volumes and supplements of the second edition of Encyclopedia of World Biography.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Find biographies of deceased persons of note (either good or bad) associated with the British Isles from the fourth century BC to 2000. This subscription provides for use by one person at a time.

Atlases

Atlas of World History by Patrick O'Brien (Editor)
Call Number: Oversize D21.5 .A89 2010
Atlas of Classical History [electronic resource] by Richard J. A. Talbert
Atlas of Classical History by Michael Grant
Call Number: G1033 .G65 1994
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Rome by Christopher Scarre
Call Number: DG209 .S33 1995
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Greece by Robert Morkot
Call Number: G1033 .M67 1995
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Egypt by Bill Manley
Call Number: DT49.9 .M36 1996

Last Updated: Nov 29, 2021 4:49 PM
URL: https://libguides.slu.edu/history111
Print Page

Subjects: History

Tags: ancient, early_modern, history, history medieval middle_ages, medieval_studies