Skip to Main Content

It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 1110: Origins of the Modern World to 1500

This guide contains information for students in History 1110: Origins of the Modern World to 1500 on how to research ancient and medieval history

Reference eBook Collections

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of almost 400 e-reference books. Includes many history reference books.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages [electronic resource] by Robert Bjork (Editor)
Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Joseph R. Strayer (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. D114 .D5 1982
Late Antiquity by G. W. Bowersock (Editor); Peter Brown (Editor); Oleg Grabar (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DE5 .L29 1999
Medieval Islamic Civilization by Josef W. Meri; Jere L. Bacharach
Call Number: Ref. DS36.85 .M434 2006
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium [electronic resource] by Alexander P. Kazhdan (Editor)

Oxford Art Online
Search the online counterpart of the 34-volume Dictionary of Art (1996). To see other reference works included, click the "more" link This database has 4-5 simultaneous users. ...more.

Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages by John Block Friedman et al., eds.
Call Number: HF1001 .T7 2000
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine by Thomas F. Glick; Steven John Livesey; Steven J. Livesey (Editor); Faith Wallis (Editor); Thomas Glick (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. Q124.97 .M43 2005
The Crusades: An Encyclopedia [electronic resource] by Alan Murray (Editor)
ebook
The History of Science: Medieval Science by David C. Lindberg; Michael H. Shank
Part of the Cambridge History of Science
New Catholic Encyclopedia by Catholic University of America Staff
Call Number: Ref. BX841 .C25 2003
Available online and in print in the Pius Library reference collection, Lewis Annex Level 4.

Biographical Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of World Biography
Search across all the volumes and supplements of the second edition of Encyclopedia of World Biography.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Find biographies of deceased persons of note (either good or bad) associated with the British Isles from the fourth century BC to 2000. This subscription provides for use by one person at a time.
Personennamen des Mittelalters/Personal Names of the Middle Ages
Vatican Film Library Reference
Z695.1.P4 P47 2000

Includes personal names from Europe as well as non-European names - 13,000 individuals in all. Includes persons who died between 500-1501.

Atlases

Atlas of the Medieval World by Rosamond McKitterick
Call Number: Ref. D117 .M35 2004
The Atlas of Medieval Europe by Angus MacKay (Editor); David Ditchburn (Editor); Simon MacLean (Editor)
Call Number: G1791 .M2 2007
The Medieval World by John M. Thompson
Call Number: G1791 .N2 2009
Atlas of World History by Patrick O'Brien (Editor)
Call Number: Oversize D21.5 .A89 2010
Atlas of the Crusades by Jonathan Simon Christopher Riley-Smith (Editor)
Call Number: G1034 .R5 1991
The Palgrave atlas of Byzantine history by John Haldon
Call Number: G1781.S1 H3 2005
Atlas of Medieval Jewish History by Haim Beinart
Call Number: G1034 .B413 1992

Last Updated: Nov 29, 2021 4:49 PM
URL: https://libguides.slu.edu/history111
Print Page

Subjects: History

Tags: ancient, early_modern, history, history medieval middle_ages, medieval_studies