Skip to Main Content

HIST 1110: Origins of the Modern World to 1500

This guide contains information for students in History 1110: Origins of the Modern World to 1500 on how to research ancient and medieval history

Reference eBook Collections

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of almost 400 e-reference books. Includes many history reference books.
Oxford Reference
Search a collection of e-reference books published by Oxford University Press.

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Renaissance & Reformation

Quality literature available for almost 500 Renaissance and Reformation topics, from artisans to witch hunts. OBO articles are written by leading scholars and are regularly updated to ensure they are accurate and reflect current research.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance by Gordon Campbell
Call Number: CB361 .C27 2003
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by Hans J. Hillerbrand (Editor)
New Catholic Encyclopedia by Catholic University of America Staff
Call Number: Ref. BX841 .C25 2003

Available online and in print in the Pius Library reference collection, Lewis Annex Level 4.
Early Modern Science by Lorraine Daston (Editor); Katharine Park (Editor)
Call Number: Q125 .E35 2006
The Classical Tradition by Anthony Grafton (Editor); Glenn W. Most (Editor); Salvatore Settis (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. DE60 .C55 2010

Biographical Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of World Biography
Search across all the volumes and supplements of the second edition of Encyclopedia of World Biography.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Find biographies of deceased persons of note (either good or bad) associated with the British Isles from the fourth century BC to 2000. This subscription provides for use by one person at a time.

Atlases

Atlas of World History by Patrick O'Brien (Editor)
Call Number: Oversize D21.5 .A89 2010
Atlas of Columbus and the great discoveries by Kenneth Nebenzahl
Call Number: Oversize G1036 .N4 1990
Augsburg historical atlas of Christianity in the Middle Ages and Reformation
Call Number: G1796.E4 A5 1967

Last Updated: Aug 19, 2025 5:51 PM
URL: https://libguides.slu.edu/history111
Print Page

Subjects: History

Tags: ancient, early_modern, history, history medieval middle_ages, medieval_studies