The rare books holdings of Saint Louis University reflect its history as one of the nation’s oldest and most prestigious Catholic universities, with strengths in theology, education, philosophy, the classical tradition, medicine, and science and technology — although almost all subjects and genres are represented somewhere.
Our collection is a comprehensive resource of Catholicism and Jesuit history, featuring over 3,000 works of Jesuitica, 144 rare Bibles, and numerous other books exploring Catholicism's rich theological, cultural, and historical legacy. Spanning centuries, the collection includes texts by and about prominent Jesuit figures and describing the Jesuit order's global missions and educational efforts, offering invaluable insight into the development of Catholic doctrine, Jesuit scholarship, and the broader impact of the Catholic Church on global history
The Geography, Exploration & Travel Collection highlights the age of exploration from the 16th through the early 19th century, with a special focus on the 17th and 18th centuries. Many of the works are centered on Jesuit missions, underscoring their significant role in global exploration. These volumes record detailed observations on natural history, geography, and early cultural exchanges, offering a unique perspective on the geographic and cultural landscapes of the time.
The Grammar, Rhetoric, and Education Collection explores the foundations of education in the early modern period. It includes a wide range of texts that address classical education methods, grammar, rhetoric, and language instruction, often geared toward students and autodidacts alike. Prominent works include Latin and Greek grammars, guides for eloquence, and textbooks for the study of classical languages, reflecting the era's emphasis on scholarly education and self-discipline in learning. The collection also features texts on general education principles, offering insights into how early modern thinkers approached the intellectual development of individuals, both within formal institutions and for self-guided learners. These works provide a valuable lens into the pedagogical practices of the period, highlighting a deep connection between intellectual tradition and the development of educational systems.
The Philosophy Collection covers a wide range of philosophical works from ancient to early modern thinkers. Notable figures include Aristotle, with extensive texts on ethics, logic, and metaphysics, and Epictetus, whose Stoic teachings are featured in his Discourses. Medieval philosophy is represented by Boethius, while early modern figures like Descartes and Kant contribute works that intertwine philosophy with emerging scientific thought. Other notable contributors include John Milton, Jean le Rond d'Alembert, and Petrus Ramus, whose writings on logic and reason influenced Enlightenment philosophy. The collection offers key insights into ethics, metaphysics, logic, and the nature of knowledge throughout history.
The Classical Authors collection includes works from key figures in ancient philosophy, literature, and rhetoric. Notable texts feature the teachings of Aristotle, Cicero, and Tacitus, with many works appearing in both Greek and Latin versions. The collection also showcases the fables of Aesop and Phaedrus, offering moral lessons that have influenced Western thought for centuries. In addition, works by other classical writers such as Epictetus, Sallust, and Horace highlight the breadth of classical literature and thought, many accompanied by detailed commentaries and translations.
The Science and Technology collection encompasses an array of historical works spanning several centuries, exploring topics such as astronomy, mathematics, chemistry, and natural philosophy. It features influential figures like Isaac Newton, Charles Bonnet, and Carl Linnaeus, whose writings reflect the intellectual advancements of the Enlightenment and the growing global exchange of scientific knowledge. The collection also features the works of Jesuit polymaths Athanasius Kircher and his pupil Gaspar Schott, who embody the speculative curiosity, quest for universal knowledge, and integration of scientific and religious inquiry characteristic of the era.
The Medicine collection features a diverse range of medical texts from the early modern period, focusing on anatomy, pharmacology, surgical practices, and public health. Key works include both original and annotated facsimiles of Andreas Vesalius’ De humani corporis fabrica, which for the first time combined detailed dissection notes with more than 400 meticulous illustrations. Other significant contributions include William Cowper’s influential and controversial Anatomy of the Humane Bodies, along with his student William Cheselden's, similarly named anatomical guide, The Anatomy of the Human Body. The collection also includes treatises on the practice of medicine, such as those by Hippocrates and Boerhaave, alongside practical works like Buchan's Domestic Medicine, which offer accessible medical advice for common ailments.
The Law Collection offers a comprehensive view of legal thought and practice across Europe. It includes foundational texts in civil and canon law, such as those by Hugo Grotius, along with key legal codes like the Code Napoléon. The collection also features legislative acts from England, France, and the Holy Roman Empire, as well as ecclesiastical works like the Corpus Iuris Canonici. Treatises on commercial and maritime law, such as Gerard Malynes' Consuetudo, vel Lex Mercatoria, highlight the practical legal concerns of the era.
The Emblem Books collection brings together works that blend visual symbolism with moral, philosophical, and theological lessons. It includes celebrated texts like Emblems Divine and Moral by Francis Quarles, which combines spiritual reflections with powerful imagery, and Andreae Alciati’s Emblematum Liber, a landmark work in the genre. Other notable titles feature allegorical representations of virtues and vices, such as Gymnasium Patientiae by Jeremias Drexel, and Caelum Empyreum by Henricus Engelgrave. These books, often richly illustrated, serve as tools for both contemplation and instruction, using visual metaphors to explore human experience and divine truths.
The Economics collection offers an exploration of economics through historical lenses, featuring works on money, trade, and financial systems. Key texts, such as An Inquiry into the Nature and Causes of the Wealth of Nations by Adam Smith and De la richesse commerciale by J.C.L. Simonde de Sismondi, introduce foundational economic theories still influential today. Other works, like Money and Trade Considered by John Law and A Brief Essay on the Advantages and Disadvantages of Trade by Josiah Tucker, delve into the complexities of currency, monetary systems, and international trade. Together, these texts provide invaluable insight into the evolution of economic thought and its application to both national and global markets.
The Art and Architecture collection is a small, but rich and diverse assortment of historical and scholarly works that explore various aspects of art, architecture, and related cultural subjects. It includes treatises on heraldry, with detailed discussions of coats of arms, crests, and noble orders, reflecting the deep connection between visual symbolism and social structures. The collection also features influential architectural works, including classical treatises on design, construction, and perspective such as Vitruvius’ De Architectura libri decem, offering insights into both ancient and modern architectural theory.
Our rare music book collection includes a diverse array of works spanning several centuries and musical genres. The collection features texts on music theory and practice, such as Jean-Philippe Rameau's Code de musique pratique (1760) and Johann Philipp Kirnberger's works on harmony and composition. It also contains ecclesiastical music, including over two dozen Missals and Antiphonaries, offering insight into the Roman Catholic liturgical traditions. Additionally, the collection holds operatic works, such as James Cobb's Love in the East (1788) and Ramah Droog (1800), as well as hymnals like George Whitefield's A Collection of Hymns for Social Worship (1774). Notably, the collection includes rare treatises on the intersections of music, art, and philosophy, such as James Harris’s Three Treatises, which explore the role of music within broader cultural contexts.