The resources below pertain to Early Modern paleography and typography. There is, obviously, significant work on pre-modern paleography; searching 'Paleography' as a subject term in the catalog returns over 600 results, most of which relate to ancient and medieval paleography.
English Paleography and Manuscript Culture, 1500-1800
by
Mastering Spanish Handwriting and Documents, 1520-1820
by
Writing Matter: from the hands of the English Renaissance
by
University of Cambridge: English handwriting, 1500-1700: an online course
28 transcription exercises, sortable by difficulty level and date. Students can make their own transcriptions and compare them to the model transcription, as well as take interactive tests. Outdated but still functional.
The National Archives (UK): Palaeography: reading old handwriting 1500-1800, a practical online tutorial
Interactive transcription exercises for 10 documents arranged in order of difficulty, in addition to a further practice section which contains many additional non-interactive transcription exercises. Requires Adobe Flash Player and in need of a refresh.
Scottish Archive Network: Online tuition in the palaeography of Scottish documents, 1500-1750
Provides a series of tutorials with examples and transcriptions, as well as a weekly poser. The first tutorial is a one hour basic tutorial. Scottish secretary hand and English secretary hand are virtually identical.
David Postles, Medieval and early modern paleography online seminar series (archived version)
Includes 9 examples of legal and manorial documents with full transcriptions and explanations.
Folger Shakespeare Library, Early Modern Manuscripts Online beta and a series of "Practical Paleography" flash cards and games on Quizlet
Includes diplomatic, semi-diplomatic, and normalized transcriptions, metadata, and images for over 100 letters from the Folger collection, searchable and downloadable.
Beinecke Library, Yale University, Quarantine Reading: Learn to Read Secretary Hand
Created by Kathryn James in August 2020.
Bess of Hardwick’s Letters: The Complete Correspondence c.1550-1608
Select a letter, and then select the "transcribe" option to transcribe a word, words, line, or multiple lines from a letter and compare your transcription to the project's transcription. The introduction to the overall tutorial is here.
Brigham Young University, Script Tutorial
Focuses on legal documents, image quality is low.
Cappelli Online
Adriano Cappelli's Lexicon abbreviaturarum is one of the most renowned collections of abbreviations. In a very successful crowd sourcing project, Ad fontes, an e-learning platform at the University of Zurich, has digitized, systematized and made freely available all 14,357 abbreviations included in the Cappelli.
Italian Paleography
A Mellon-funded digital project on Italian vernacular Paleography, which provides digital tools to learn and teach how to read handwritten original sources dating from the late 1100s to the late 1700s, offering a wide range of examples and hands-on exercises. The website features digitized images of 102 manuscripts and documents; transcriptions and background essays for each item; an updated and customized version of the T-Pen transcription tool to actively transcribe manuscripts and documents; a selection of calligraphy books and historical manuscript maps; a handbook of Italian vernacular scripts; additional resources, including a glossary, list of abbreviations and symbols, dictionaries, and teaching materials.