Research Guides: Art History: Articles

Finding Articles

SLUth Search Plus searches about 100 library databases, including Art Full Text, Historical Abstracts, America: History & Life, JSTOR, Project Muse, and the SLU Libraries Catalog, creating an effective interdisciplinary search.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
1977-present. Includes journal articles, yearbooks, and museum bulletins covering every type of art including advertising, antiques, history, computer art, graphic arts, and more.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA and RILA) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of the History of Art provides online access to thousands of citations to research articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Very extensive in scope, but limited primarily to European and North and South American art. Offers no full text. Unfortunately, it is no longer updated.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Images and descriptive data relating to works of art produced between early apostolic times and the sixteenth century.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Search the world's scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1450-present. Covers the world's scholarly literature on the history of the world, except the United States and Canada.
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
1967-present. Indexes articles and review articles from about 4,500 journals, essays from Festschriften, conference proceedings, etc., covering the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).
Iter Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
400-1700. Indexes secondary source articles about the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
1970-present. Search for journal articles, books, and chapters in edited books for information about the culture and civilizations in East, Southeast, and South Asia.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to hundreds of scholarly journals and open access ebooks from over 200 university and not-for-profit presses primarily in humanities and social sciences with some science, technology, and math.

Art History

Finding Articles

SLUth - Search Plus