Atwood, Craig, Frank S.Mead and Samuel S. Hill, revised by Craig D. Atwood. Handbook of Denominations in the United States. 13th ed. Nashville: Abingdon Press, 2010.
Ref. BL2525.M425 2010
Newman, William M. and Peter L. Halvorson. Atlas of American Religion: The Denominational Era 1776 -1990. Walnut Creek, CA: Altamira Press, 2000.
Ref. BR515.N49 1999
Schenck, Robert L., ed. Constitutions of American Denominations. 3 vols. Buffalo, NY: William S. Hein & Company, 1984.
Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches. Annual. 2000-2012.
BR513.Y4 (Current volume)
Volumes covering the years 1973-1999 may be requested from the Locust Street Facility.
Brackney, William Henry. The Baptists. New York, Westport, CT, London: Greenwood Press, 1988.
Ref. BX6235.B628 1988
_____, ed. Baptist life and thought, 1600-1980: a source book . Valley Forge, PA: Judson Press, 1983.
Ref. BX6211.B73 1999
Encyclopedia of Southern Baptists. 4 vols. Nashville, TN: Broadman Press, 1958.
Ref. BX6211.E5 1958
Leonard, Bill J. Dictionary of Baptists in America. Downers Grove, IL: Intervarsity Press, 1994.
Ref. BX6211.D53 1994
Southern Baptist Periodical Index. 1965-1984, 1987-2010..
Pdf files of the volumes for 1965-2000 are available online.
Brethren Encyclopedia. 3 vols. Philadelphia, PA and Oak Brook,
IL: The Brethren Encyclopedia Inc., 1983.
Ref. BX7821.2.B74 1983
Ames, Charlotte, comp. Directory of Roman Catholic Newspapers on Microfilm: United States. Notre Dame, IN: University of Notre Dame, 1982.
Pius Special Collections and Rare Books Z7837.5.U54 1982
Bransom, Charles N. Ordinations of U.S. Catholic Bishops 1790-1989. Washington, DC: United States Catholic Conference, 1990.
Ref. BX1407.B57 B73 1990
Carey, Patrick W. Roman Catholics. Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Ref. BX1406.2.C346 1993
Code, Joseph Bernard. Dictionary of the American Hierarchy (1789-1964). New York: Joseph F. Wagner, Inc., 1964.
Ref. BX4670.C6 1964
Supplemented by American Bishops 1964-1970 by the same author (Ref. BX4666.C6 1970).
Culkin, Harry M. Guide to Current Catholic Diocesan Newspapers in Microform. 1979.
Pius Special Collections and Rare Books Z7837.5.C84
Delaney, John J. Dictionary of American Catholic Biography. Garden City, NY: Doubleday &
Co., Inc., 1984.
Ref. BX4670.D45 1984
Ellis, John Tracy, ed. Documents of American Catholic History. 3 vols. Wilmington, DE: Michael Glazier, 1987.
BX1405.D63 1987Ellis, John Tracy and Robert Trisco. A Guide to American Catholic History. 2nd ed., rev. and enlarged. Santa Barbara, CA and Oxford, England: ABC-Clio, 1982.
Glazier, Michael and Thomas J. Shelley, eds. The Encyclopedia of American Catholic History. Collegeville, MN: The Liturgical Press, 1997.
Ref. BX1406.2.E53 1997
Hennesey, S.J., James. American Catholic Bibliography 1970-1982. South Bend, IN: Charles and Margaret Hall Cushwa Center for the Study of American Catholicism, University of Notre Dame, 1982.
Ref. Z7778.U6H4 1982
Liederbach, Clarence A. America’s Thousand Bishops from 1513 to 1974...from Abramowicz to Zuroweste. Cleveland: Dillon/Liederbach, Inc., 1974.
Lonsway, Jesse W. and Aaron Pembleton. The Episcopal Lineage of the Hierarchy in the United States: Revised 1790-1963. Cincinnati, OH: The Episcopal Lineage, 1963.
Matochik, Michael J., ed. Pamphlets in American History Group IV: A Bibliographic Guide to the Microform Collection. Sanford, NC: Microfilming Corporation of America, 1983.
Pius Microform Ref. BX1405.P35 1983
pp. 1-79 are a bibliographic guide to 1,340 pamphlets on 1,504 microfiche (which Pius Library owns) on "Catholicism and Anti-Catholicism."
Nolan, Hugh J., ed. Pastoral Letters of the United States Catholic Bishops. Washington, D.C.: United States Catholic Conference, 1983- .
Ref. BX874.A2 C37 1983
A six-volume compendium of official ecclesiastical pronouncements from 1792 to 1997.
Reuss, Francis X. Biographical Cyclopaedia of the Catholic Hierarchy of the United States 1984-1898. Milwaukee: M.H. Wiltzius & Co. 1898.
Ref. BX4670.R74 and Online
Talmage, John Philip. Marquette University Index: Three Decades of Documents. Indexes to the Publications and Documents Published or Distributed by the United States Catholic Conference, the National Conference of Catholic Bishops, the National Catholic Welfare Conference, and from other sources in the period 1960-1990. Marquette University, 1991.
Ref. BX873.7.M37 1991
Tomasi, Silvano M. and Edward C. Stibili. Italian Americans and Religion: An Annotated Bibliography. 2nd ed. New York: Center for Migration Studies, 1992.
Vollmar, S.J., Edward R. The Catholic Church in America: An Historical Bibliography. New York: The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 1963.
BX1406.2 V65 1963
Galbraith, Leslie R. The Disciples and American Culture: A Bibliography of Works by Disciples of Christ Members 1866-1984. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1990. BX7321.2 G35 1990.
Restoration Serials Index. 1978- . Online
Youngs, J. William
T. The Congregationalists. New York, Westport, CT, London:
Greenwood Press, 1990.
Ref. BX7135.Y68 1990
Bodensieck, Julius, ed. The Encyclopedia of the Lutheran Church. 3 vols. Minneapolis, MN: Augsburg Publishing House, 1965.
Ref. BX8007.E63 1965
Lagerquist, L. DeAne. The Lutherans. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999. Ref. BX8041.L94 1999
Lueker, Erwin L., ed. Lutheran Cyclopedia. St. Louis and London: Concordia Publishing House, 1975.
Ref. BX8007.L8 1975
Wiederaenders, Robert C., ed. Historical Guide to Lutheran Church Bodies of North America. 2nd ed. St. Louis, MO: Lutheran Historical Conference, 1998.
Ref. BX8041.W5 1998
Encyclopedia: A Comprehensive Reference Work on the Anabaptist-Mennonite
Movement. 5 vols. Hillsboro, KS: Mennonite Brethren Publishing
Batsel, John D. And
Lyda K. Bastel, comp. Union List of United Methodist Serials 1773-1973.
Ephrata, PA: Science Press, Inc., 1974.
Pius Oversize BX8211.U65 1974
Harmon, Nolan B., general editor. The Encyclopedia of World Methodism.
2 vols. Nashville, TN: The United Methodist Publishing House, 1975.
Ref. BX8211.E5 1974
Kirby, James E., Russell E. Richey, Kenneth E. Rowe, eds. The Methodists.
Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press, 1996.
Ref. BX8382.2.A4 K57 1996
_____, comp. and ed. United Methodist Studies: Basic Bibliographies.
3rd ed. Nashville: Abingdon Press, 1992.
Yrigoyen, Jr., Charles
and Susan E. Warrick, eds. Historical Dictionary of Methodism. 2nd ed. Lanham, MD and London: The Scarecrow Press, Ltd., 2005.
Ref. BX8211.H57 2005
"Seeks to give basic information about some of the important personalities, ideas, events, and locations in the origin and development of Methodism [from the Preface]." The focus is primarily on North American Methodism but British Methodism is covered also.
Bitton, Davis. Historical Dictionary of Mormonism. Metuchen, NJ; London: The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 1994.
Ref. BX8605.5.B588 1994
Fales, Susan L. and Chad J. Flake, compilers. Mormons and Mormonism in U.S. Government Documents: A Bibliography. Salt Lake City, UT: University of Utah Press, 1989.
Flake, Chad and Larry Draper, eds. A Mormon Bibliography, 1830-1930. 2nd ed. 2 vols. Provo, UT: Brigham Young University, 2004. BX8635.3.F55 2004
Ludlow, Daniel H., ed. Encyclopedia of Mormonism. 5 vols. New York: Macmillan Publishing Company, 1992.
Ref. BX8605.5.E62 1992
Shields, Steven L. The Latter Day Saint Churches: An Annotated Bibliography. New York and London: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1987.
The Orthodox Church. Westport, CT and London: Greenwood
Ref. BX735.F57 1995
Barbour, Hugh and
J. William Frost. The Quakers. New York, Westport, CT, London:
Greenwood Press, 1988.
Ref. BX7731.2.B37 1988
Balmer, Randall and John R. Fitzmier. The Presbyterians. Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Ref. BX8935.B355 1993
Benedetto, Robert, Darrell L. Guder, Donald K. McKim, eds. Historical Dictionary of Reformed Churches. Lanham, MD and London: The Scarecrow Press, Ltd., 1999.
Ref. BX9415.B46 1999
Dennison, James T., comp. An Index to the Periodicals of the Associate Presbyterian Church (1754-1858), Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church (1782-1858) and the United Presbyterian Church of North America (1858-1958). n.p., 1963.
Gasero, Russel L. Historical directory of the Reformed Church in America, 1628-1992. 3rd ed. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 1992
Hart, D. G., ed. Dictionary of the Presbyterian & Reformed Tradition in America. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1999.
Ref. BX8909.D53 1999
Parker, Jr., Harold M., comp. Bibliography of Published Articles on American Presbyterianism, 1901-1980. Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press, 1985.
Prince, Harold B., comp. and ed. A Presbyterian Bibliography: The Published Writings of Ministers Who Served in the Presbyterian Church in the United States During Its First Hundred Years, 1861-1961, and Their Locations in Eight SignificantTheological Collections in the U.S.A. Metuchen, NJ and London: The Scarecrow Press, Inc. and The American Theological Library Association, 1983.
Witherspoon, E.D., comp. Ministerial Directory of the Presbyterian Church, U.S. 1861-1967. Doraville, GA: Foote & Davis, 1967.
Bjorling, Joel. The Churches of God, Seventh Day: A Bibliography. New York and London: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1987.
Neufeld, Don F. et al, eds. Seventh-Day Adventist Encyclopedia. Washington, DC: Review and Herald Publishing Association, 1966.
Ref. BX6154.S39 1966
Harris, Mark W., ed. Historical Dictionary of Unitarian Universalism. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2004.. Ref. BX9809.H37 2004
Robinson, David. The Unitarians and the Universalists. Westport, CT and London: Greenwood Press, 1985.
Ref. BX9833.R63 1985